PDF [Mademoiselle Chanel: A Novel] By C. W. Gortner


Ale s Knowing how Gortner s previous novels have grabbed me and sucked me in i had every reasonable belief previous novels have grabbed me and sucked me in i had every reasonable belief Mademoiselle Chanel would o the sameI

Was Not DisappointedIn The 
not The Alchemy of Opposites disappointedIn the rags to riches story of this fashion legend who in fact is legendary than Chanel I became part of the story of a youngispossessed child who from the start learned to be Holy Crap The World is Ending The Anunnaki Chronicles disappointed in men If Gortner made this all up it would be unbelievable but heidn t We watch this young independent seamstress become a rising star building her empire from scratch with a little help from benefactors having the vision to see a woman s world through a classical sophisticated yet interestingly low key style Gortner s Stand and Deliver: Political Activism, Leadership, and Hip Hop Culture description of Chanel s battles with the likes of the over the top Schiaparelli were for me a microcosm of Chanel s lifeAgain pleading ignorance here I had no idea that Chanel was implicated as a spyuring WWII and frankly coming to know a little of what formed her inner being from Gortner i The Wrong Complexion for Protection don t buy it I suppose that is for the ages That she left her beloved Paris for Switzerland after Vichy fell and the French who remained behinduring the German occupation were stigmatized and prosecuted is a testament to her courage in reinventing herself as she A Black Woman's Civil War Memoirs: Reminiscences of My Life in Camp With the 33rd U.S. Colored Troops, Late 1st South Carolina Volunteers did time and againuring the course of her long lifeThis is a well researched eeply felt biographical novel Although i m not a fashion maven Gortner s insights and his esire to create an accessible reachable Coco a Coco who was not always accessible even to those she loved and who loved her is a testament to his talent as a writer Beautifully written very much in the moment this is a first class piece of historical fictio. Thful ease and confidence of the s modern woman As Coco's reputation spreads her couturier business explodes taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass And when Paris falls to the Nazis Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she esired Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength passion and artistic vision would become her trademar. ,

Mademoiselle Chanel: A NovelAn excellent biography of a woman ahead of her time I knew next to nothing about Coco the woman before I read this book Some reviews mentioned that it glossed over her anti semitic views It might also have glossed over her penchant of sleeping with many men but i have admiration this men but I have admiration for this woman who actually had to fight her way to top by herself She never had someone who truly loved and assisted her Some reviewers found her unlikable but I found the way she was portrayed was probably on the nail given her circumstances And she was extremely generous with her money when she felt someone needed help Do however keep in mind that this is a novel for those who want to know about the life of Gabrielle Coco Chanel Unless she interests you this might not be the book for you Everything about this book works the setting narration character evelopmentnothing was left to chance I read about 50 books each year and this novel is hands Approaches To Academic Reading And Writing down the best historical fiction I ve read I mrawn to novels about this time period but so often they re about love lost Living with Lynching: African American Lynching Plays, Performance, and Citizenship, 1890-1930 during the wars orisplaced families and lost wealth I stay as far as I can from romance and chick lit but this book Witch-Hunt Narrative deals overwhelmingly with female characters and complicated relationships but neveregenerates into sappy My Hero Academia Series Volume 1 - 20 Books Collection Set by Kouhei Horikoshi descriptions In addition to a tightly written story Gortner manages torop the reader into the setting by his Alcohol Addiction Recovery descriptions of smells I could almost smell Coco relentless cigarettes and her perfume and hear the waves while she vacationed Theescription of the German military office and French police station were indeed chilling Even her outbursts of anger seemed to place the reader. For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of Mars Journey drama passion tragedy and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashionesigner Coco Chanel the ambitious gifted laundrywoman's Beating the Odds - From shocking childhood abuse to the embrace of a loving family, one mans true story of courage and redemption daughter who revolutionized fashion built an international empire and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century Born into rural poverty Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother'seath The sisters nurture Gabrielle's exceptional sewing skills a talent that will propel

Summary ë E-book, or Kindle E-pub ✓ C. W. Gortner

In the sceneOne of my most prized possessions is a red Chanel bag I purchased 26 years agoknowing the History Behind It Makes It behind it makes it much special BTW this would be a perfect book club selectiongripping story and little if anything to offend anyone I liked the author s straightforward style the historical Climax (Double Alchemy, details of life in Paris beforeuring WW II and an up close look at the intriguing Coco Chanel I ve always Loved Chanel No 5 Perfume Chanel No 5 perfume reading about its conception long life It has been such fun eavesdropping on a famous woman s life whose name I ve always known I rarely rate a book a 5 star score but this one had all the elements that appeal to me I think book clubs would Peace DeLeos Action Thriller Singles devour this tasty exotic bio in novel form by Nancy Anne I really enjoyed this historical novel written in the first person It is well researched about the humble beginnings of Coco Chanel and her rise in the fashion world The background included both World Wars and her life in Paris with the elite of society that included famous artists Picasso Daliancers composers Roots and Blossoms deposed Russian aristocracy as well as British and French high society She was a complex character with an assortment of longtime love affairs and friendships Herry wit and humor are legendary All in all it was a fascinating tale in that time period It was also very interesting to see how Chanel s clothing lines jewelry and perfumes The Humanities, Higher Education, and Academic Freedom developed into what is known today as the House of Chanel Highly recommend I have to admit to a certain amount of ignorance about Coco Chanel other than the fact that i ve coveted her iconic fragrances and make up since I was old enough to browse the aisles of Saks and Bloomingd. He willful young woman into a life far removed from therudgery of her childhood Transforming herself into Coco a seamstress and sometime torch singer the petite brunette burns with ambition an incandescence that raws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury iscovering a freedom that sparks her creativity But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco BWWM (Interracial Romance BWWM African American Multicultural Romance) discovers herestiny Rejecting the frilly corseted silhouette of the past her sleek minimalist styles reflect the you.